Can’t even give it away …

trade me oct 14 012Totally off the track of mosaics today, but something I feel compelled to write about. We are bombarded in the media about hungry kids in New Zealand, organisations rallying to find breakfast and lunch to feed the poor. On a very small scale, I’ve advertised a couple of times to give away some of the excess produce from my organic vegetable garden with one taker to date. I cant help thinking that were I offering free McDonalds or Carls Junior or KFC I would be inundated with requests. The funny thing is .. these fast food outlets seem to be constantly busy in all suburbs of differing levels of wealth. I cant afford to eat takeaways but I can afford to grow vegetables which I much prefer to eat. These vegetables are grown organically and can be picked and eaten fresh daily. It doesn’t take a lot of effort and is more convenient than jumping into my car and queuing up at the drive through. Am I just being cynical about child hunger in New Zealand? Rather than handing out food parcels should we not be handing out education on self sustaining methods of feeding our families? I know there are programmes in some schools which are growing fruit and vegetables. This needs to be extended to the wider community.What is that saying (forgive me if I get it wrong) but its something like “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day… teach a man how to fish and he can feed himself for life.” Rant over. The silver beet is going to seed and must be picked this week…

Leave a Reply

